Why home is better than a hotel


The Liberty Bell in Philadelphia.

I’ve been in Philadelphia this week for a conference for work. It’s a lovely city and one afternoon we had time to explore the center city and some of the historical sites.

But there’s no place like home.

Hotels can be cold and sterile places. For me it is  tiresome to have someone else prepare all of my meals every day out of ingredients I didn’t choose myself.

Don’t get me wrong — I love to travel and to experience new places and eat new foods. But business travel isn’t like that. I felt lonely, even surrounded by longtime friends and colleagues who I only get to see once a year at these types of events.

But I’d rather sleep in my own bed, with my loving partner and a dog or two. And although I’ve always loved people-watching in airports, I get tired of the schlepping from terminal to terminal and the constant worry about being on time and in the right place.

Ah, isn’t it good to be back home with one dog curled up next to me and the other at my feet, with the windows wide open and a view of the garden beyond?

About Dianna Ott

Lydia Street is about an old house, a new garden and the adventures of the lovely and talented occupants, Dianna and Christe. We love our dogs; we love to cook; we love to garden; and we have too many house projects going on at the same time. We also have plenty of stories to tell. Visit us at www.lydiastreet.com.
This entry was posted in animals, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

