The food rules


Hello, my name is Dianna and I have rules about food. These are not the house rules but I am allowed to state personal preferences here on Lydia Street as long as I give enough space for others to do the same. I’m a very kind soul, really. You’d like me in person.

1. If it is consumed before 12 noon it must be real breakfast-type food. What is “real” you ask? Fruits, breads-pastries-cakes, cereals, egg-type stuff, bacon-ham-sausage, milk or yogurt. (No pizza, but exceptions can be made if you’ve been up all night.)

2. My martinis are made with gin. They were invented that way. Don’t ask me to try one of your “stupid-tinis” which are nothing more than childish cocktails served in traditional martini glasses. Learn to love the taste of gin. You’ll never need anything else.

3. Anything that contains peanut butter is NOT dessert. Don’t get me wrong, I love peanut butter in its place. Just keep it out of my pie, my ice cream and my cookies.

4. There’s no such thing as bad chocolate, old chocolate or useless chocolate. Period. Chocolate was invented for our enjoyment and can be eaten at any time of day.

5. Don’t serve me food that I have to gnaw off a bone. Gross. Really.

6. If it has cream cheese in it, you can’t call it sushi can you?

About Dianna Ott

Lydia Street is about an old house, a new garden and the adventures of the lovely and talented occupants, Dianna and Christe. We love our dogs; we love to cook; we love to garden; and we have too many house projects going on at the same time. We also have plenty of stories to tell. Visit us at www.lydiastreet.com.
This entry was posted in cooking, drinking, food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The food rules

  1. Lydia Street says:

    Glad you can relate!

    The one rule I get the most grief about is the “peanut butter is not a dessert” rule. But I just cannot put it in the dessert category no matter how hard I try.

  2. Hahahahaha!!! You made me laugh heartily! I think we all have rules on food and by putting your’s into print, you just made the rest of us feel better since we know we are not alone. My daughter’s biggest rule is that her food cannot touch…….that one always makes me laugh too!

Leave a Reply

